Free ebooks in the series - 'Allan Quatermain'

H. Rider Haggard

Complete. Sorted in chronological order.

The Adventurous Legacy of Allan Quatermain: A Journey through H. Rider Haggard's Timeless Book Series


The literary world has been graced by many iconic adventurers, but few stand as tall and enduring as Allan Quatermain. Created by the prolific British author H. Rider Haggard, the Allan Quatermain book series has carved its place in the annals of adventure literature. This series, spanning numerous novels, explores the thrilling exploits of the intrepid hunter and explorer Allan Quatermain, offering readers a captivating journey through uncharted lands, ancient mysteries, and the heart of Africa.

The Man Behind the Pen:

Before delving into the heart of the Allan Quatermain series, it's essential to understand the mind that brought this legendary character to life. Sir Henry Rider Haggard, a Victorian-era writer born in 1856, was a master of adventure fiction. His love for Africa, stemming from his experiences as a young man working in South Africa, infused his tales with a vivid sense of place and an understanding of the continent's diverse cultures.

Haggard's fascination with the unexplored corners of the world and his interest in history and archaeology played a pivotal role in shaping the character of Allan Quatermain. These elements, combined with a keen storytelling ability, laid the foundation for an enduring literary legacy.

The Birth of Allan Quatermain:

Allan Quatermain made his debut in Haggard's 1885 novel, "King Solomon's Mines." Set against the backdrop of the uncharted African wilderness, the story follows Quatermain, a seasoned elephant hunter, and his companions as they embark on a perilous quest to find the legendary diamond mines of King Solomon. This novel not only introduced readers to the enigmatic Quatermain but also established the template for the subsequent adventures that would unfold in the series.

Quatermain's Character:

Allan Quatermain stands as a quintessential Victorian-era hero—brave, resourceful, and possessed of a moral compass that guides him through the darkest perils. Unlike some of his contemporaries, Quatermain's strengths lie not in supernatural abilities but in his knowledge of the natural world, his keen survival instincts, and his marksmanship.

Throughout the series, Quatermain's character evolves, reflecting the changing attitudes and societal norms of the time. Readers witness his internal conflicts, personal growth, and the impact of his adventures on his worldview. This nuanced portrayal contributes to the enduring appeal of Allan Quatermain.

Key Novels in the Series:

King Solomon's Mines (1885):

The novel that started it all, "King Solomon's Mines" catapults Quatermain into a world of ancient mysteries, tribal conflicts, and untold riches. As readers follow his journey, they become entwined in the allure of the unexplored African landscape.

Allan Quatermain (1887):

This sequel follows Quatermain on another African expedition, weaving a tale of lost civilizations, tribal politics, and the challenges of survival. It further solidifies Quatermain's status as a legendary figure in adventure literature.

She and Allan (1920):

Written later in Haggard's career, "She and Allan" explores Quatermain's encounters with the immortal Ayesha, known as She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed. This installment introduces elements of fantasy and the supernatural, expanding the series beyond the confines of the physical world.

The Ivory Child (1916):

In this novel, Quatermain faces political intrigue, a lost tribe, and the search for a mysterious child. The Ivory Child showcases Haggard's ability to blend action, suspense, and elements of the unknown.

Legacy and Adaptations:

The Allan Quatermain series has left an indelible mark on popular culture. Beyond the written page, Quatermain has found himself adapted into various forms of media, from radio dramas to film and television. Notably, the character served as inspiration for the iconic adventurer Indiana Jones, emphasizing the enduring influence of Haggard's creation.


In the vast landscape of adventure literature, the Allan Quatermain series stands as a testament to the timeless allure of exploration, mystery, and the indomitable spirit of the human adventurer. H. Rider Haggard's masterful storytelling, coupled with his deep understanding of the African continent, has given readers a series that continues to captivate audiences over a century after its inception. Allan Quatermain's legacy endures not just as a character but as a symbol of the untamed and adventurous spirit that resides within us all.