The Happy Prince and Other Tales

Oscar Wilde

The Happy Prince and Other Tales, by Oscar Wilde - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Happy Prince and Other Tales is a collection of five short stories for children, written by Oscar Wilde and first published in 1888. The stories are; The Happy Prince (the tale of a statue and a swallow who are destroyed and then rewarded for their selfless deeds); The Nightingale And The Rose (the sad story of a nightingale who sacrifices it's life to help out a student); The Selfish Giant (a story about a giant who banishes children from his garden, only to discover it is the children that make the garden grow); The Devoted Friend (a story within a story about a man who shows nothing but selflessness to his friend who does not return the sentiment); and, The Remarkable Rocket (the tale of a firework who in an attempt to show off his importance, ends up going completely unnoticed).

This book has 16,171 words, 28 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1888.

Production notes: This ebook of The Happy Prince and Other Tales was published by Global Grey on the 17th November 2018, and updated on the 23rd November 2023. The artwork used for the cover is 'Interesting Story' by Laura Muntz Lyall.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...