The Railway Children

Edith Nesbit

The Railway Children, by Edith Nesbit - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle ebook formats.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Railway Children is a children's book by English author Edith Nesbit, first published in 1906. The book is the story of a family who move from London to 'The Three Chimneys', a house near the railway, after the father is falsely imprisoned for spying. The children (Roberta, Peter, and Phyllis) become friends with an old man who regularly takes the train near their home. He is eventually able to prove their father's innocence.

In the book, before their father is freed from prison, the family take care of a Russian exile. The author, Edith Nesbit, was actually friends with a couple of Russian dissidents (Sergius Stepniak and Peter Kropotkin) in real life and the story itself may have been influenced by the Dreyfus affair in which Alfred Dreyfus was wrongly accused and imprisoned for spying.

A well loved classic, The Railway Children has been adapted several times, including four television series, and a feature film.

This book has 123 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1906.

Production notes: This ebook of The Railway Children was published by Global Grey ebooks on the 13th January 2021. The artwork used for the cover is 'Walk in the Woods' by Pierre-Auguste Renoir.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...