Folk-Tales of Bengal

Lal Behari Day

Folk-Tales of Bengal, by Lal Behari Day - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle ebook formats.
Skip straight to downloads.


Folk-Tales of Bengal is a collection of twenty-two short folk tales by Bengali Indian journalist Lal Behari Day, first published in 1883. The stories include: Life’s Secret; Phakir Chand; The Indigent Brahman; The Story of the Rakshasas; The Story of Swet-Basanta; The Evil Eye of Sani; The Boy whom Seven Mothers suckled; The Story of Prince Sobur; The Origin of Opium; Strike but Hear; The Adventures of Two Thieves and of their Sons; The Ghost-Brahman; The Man who wished to be Perfect; A Ghostly Wife; The Story of a Brahmadaitya; The Story of a Hiraman; The Origin of Rubies; The Match-making Jackal; The Boy with the Moon on his Forehead; The Ghost who was Afraid of being Bagged; The Field of Bones; and, The Bald Wife.

This book has 114 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1883.

Production notes: This ebook of Folk-Tales of Bengal was published by Global Grey ebooks on the 26th February 2021. The artwork used for the cover is 'Two Nautch Girls' by Edwin Weeks.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...