Three Works

Dylan Thomas

Three Works, by Dylan Thomas - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


This is a collection of three of Dylan Thomas's most famous works - A Child's Christmas in Wales (1952), Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog (1940), and, Under Milk Wood (1952). In 'A Child's Christmas in Wales', Thomas captures the essence of a festive season through the eyes of a young boy. Originally crafted for BBC Radio, this prose reflects an idyllic and sentimental portrayal of a simpler time, resonating as one of Thomas's beloved creations. 'Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog' is a collection of short prose stories, all of which are autobiographical and all are set in the writer's native Swansea in South Wales. 'Under Milk Wood' is a drama, written for radio, that has an all-knowing narrator who beckons the audience to eavesdrop on the dreams and intimate musings of the residents in the fictional Welsh fishing village of Llareggub (which amusingly spells 'buggerall' backward). Among them are Mrs. Ogmore-Pritchard, ceaselessly badgering her two departed spouses; Captain Cat, revisiting his maritime adventures; the two Mrs. Dai Breads; Organ Morgan, consumed by his musical passion; and Polly Garter, yearning for her lost love. As the town rouses from slumber, now conscious of how their emotions shape their actions, we observe them navigate through their daily routines, infused with newfound awareness of their inner sentiments.

This book has 61,245 words, 142 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published 1940-1952.

Production notes: This ebook of Three Works was published by Global Grey on the 1st January 2024. The artwork used for the cover is 'Aberystwyth Castle and harbour' by C. Richards.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...