The Crock of Gold

James Stephens

The Crock of Gold, by James Stephens - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Crock of Gold is a comic novel written by Irish author James Stephens, first published in 1912. The appearance of the ancient god Pan in Ireland sets off a chain of events. When Caitilin Ni Murrachu decides to follow Pan, her father seeks help from an old philosopher to bring her back. This philosopher, on his quest, enlists the Celtic god of love's aid, leading to a journey of self-discovery. However, things take an unexpected turn when leprechauns tip off the police, resulting in a second rescue mission—this time for the philosopher himself. Stephens weaves together Irish folklore and philosophical ponderings in a humorous narrative that raises profound questions and societal reflections. The novel's winding storyline serves as a backdrop for exploring dichotomies like man and woman, urban and rural life, and the contrasts between virtue and vice. The Crock of Gold catapulted James Stephens into literary recognition, showcasing his unique blend of philosophy and folklore.

This book has 55,817 words, 103 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1912.

Production notes: This ebook of The Crock of Gold was published by Global Grey on the 2nd December 2023. The artwork used for the cover is 'Faun whistling to a blackbird' by Arnold Böcklin.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...