The Vicomte De Bragelonne

Alexandre Dumas

The Vicomte De Bragelonne, by Alexandre Dumas - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Vicomte De Bragelonne is a book by Alexandre Dumas, first published in serialisation form between 1847–1850. It is the third book in The D’Artagnan Romances. It is now 1660, and although promised the captaincy of the musketeers at the close of Twenty Years After, D'Artagnan is still trailing his sword in the Louvre as a lowly lieutenant. Louis XIV is well past the age where he should rule, but the ailing Cardinal Mazarin refuses to relinquish the reins of power. Meanwhile, Charles II, a king without a country, travels through Europe seeking aid from his fellow monarchs. Athos still resides at La Fère while his son, Raoul de Bragelonne, has entered into the service in the household of M. le Prince. As for Raoul, he has his eyes on an entirely different object than his father – his childhood companion, Louise de la Vallière, with whom he is hopelessly in love. Porthos, now a baron, is off on some mysterious mission along with Aramis, who is now the Bishop of Vannes. The Vicomte De Bragelonne was originally published as one volume, but subsequent translations have split the book into 3, 4, and sometimes 6 separate books. The Global Grey editions has the 4 volume split: 'The Vicomte de Bragelonne', 'Ten Years Later', 'Louise de la Vallière' and, 'The Man in the Iron Mask'.

№ 3 in The D’Artagnan Romances.

This book has 189,237 words, 398 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published 1847-1850. This translation by George Routledge was first published in 1893.

Production notes: This ebook of The Vicomte De Bragelonne was published by Global Grey in 2018, and updated on the 6th November 2023. The artwork used for the cover is 'Scene from Musketeers' by Florent Willems.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...