A Thief in the Night

E. W. Hornung

A Thief in the Night, by E. W. Hornung - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


A Thief in the Night: A Book of Raffles' Adventures is a collection of ten short stories by English author E. W. Hornung, first published in 1905. Featuring the author's popular character; the cricket loving, gentleman thief, and master of disguise A. J. Raffles, this was Hornung's final collection of short stories. Raffles' accomplice, Harry 'Bunny' Manders narrates the stories, taken from events in their lives as criminals, as they commit several burglaries in England. The stories in the book are: Out of Paradise; The Chest of Silver; The Rest Cure; The Criminologists' Club; The Field of Phillipi; A Bad Night; A Trap to Catch a Cracksman; The Spoils of Sacrilege; The Raffles Relics; and, The Last Word.

Hornung was the brother-in-law of Arthur Conan Doyle, the creator of Sherlock Holmes. The characters of A. J. Raffles and Bunny Manders were loosely based on Hornung's friends, Oscar Wilde and his lover Lord Alfred Douglas.

This book has 63,784 words, 108 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1905.

Production notes: This ebook of A Thief in the Night was published by Global Grey on the 30th January 2022. The artwork used for the cover is 'Male Portrait' by Teodor Axentowicz.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...