The Darling and Other Stories

Anton Chekhov

The Darling and Other Stories, by Anton Chekhov - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Darling and Other Stories by Anton Chekhov, is the first volume in the 13 volume set of The Tales of Chekhov. This volume includes ten short stories including: The Darling (about Olenka Plemyannikova and her co-dependent relationships with the men in her life); Ariadne (in which a man recounts his love for a women called Ariadna Kotlovich); Polinka; Anyuta (about a young girl who lives in squalor with Stepan Klotchkov, a medical student); The Two Volodyas; The Trousseau; The Helpmate; Talent; An Artist's Story (also known as The House with the Mezzanine, the story of Lydia Volchaninova and how her devotion to bettering the lives of others doesn't extend to her own family); and, Three Years.

№ 1 in The Tales of Chekhov series.

This book has 72,545 words, and 125 pages in the PDF version. This translation by Constance Garnett was first published in 1916.

Production notes: This ebook of The Darling and Other Stories was published by Global Grey on the 6th October 2021. The artwork used for the cover is 'Contemplation' by Eugene de Blaas.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...