Short Stories

C. M. Kornbluth

Short Stories, by C. M. Kornbluth - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


This is a collection of seven short stories by American science fiction author Cyril M. Kornbluth. The stories in this collection are: The Marching Morons - a book about a man who, after spending hundreds of years in suspended animation, awakens to find himself living in a world where excessive breeding by those less intelligent, along with developed technology that means people have to think less, has led the world to become full of morons; The Syndic - a book about a future in which North America is controlled by rival criminal gangs; The Adventurer; The Psychological Regulator; The Altar at Midnight; With These Hands; and, The Luckiest Man in Denv.

Kornbluth would sometimes collaborate with Frederik Pohl, another science fiction author, and in Pohl's autobiography, he mentions that Kornbluth had some odd habits - such as believing that professional authors were supposed to drink black coffee, and so whilst he disliked it, he felt obliged to train himself to get used to drinking it. He also apparently never brushed his teeth, and would educate himself by reading through an entire encyclopedia from A to Z. Kornbluth died young - he was only 34 when he suffered a fatal heart attack whilst running for a train.

This book has 90,087 words, and 175 pages in the PDF version. All of the books in this collection are in the public domain because their copyrights weren't renewed on time.

Production notes: This ebook of Short Stories was published by Global Grey on the 9th August 2021. The artwork used for the cover is 'Carnival Procession' by Carl Strathmann.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...