Basque Legends

Wentworth Webster

Basque Legends, by Wentworth Webster - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


Basque Legends is a book by English folklorist Wentworth Webster, first published in 1877. It is a collection of mythology and folklore from the Basque people, an ethnic group from Spain, which the author collected from local people after living and working in Saint-Jean-de-Luz from 1869 - 1882. Stories in this collection include: The Tartaro; Errua, The Madman; The Three Brothers, The Cruel Master, And The Tartaro; The Tartaro and Petit Perroquet; The Grateful Tartaro and the Heren-Suge; The Seven-Headed Serpent; The Serpent in the Wood; Acheria, The Fox; The Ass and the Wolf; Basa-Jauna, The Wild Man; The Servant at the Fairy's; The Fairy in the House; The Pretty But Idle Girl; The Devil's Age; The Fairy-Queen Godmother; The Witches at the Sabbat; The Witches and the Idiots; The Witch and the New-Born Infant; The Changeling; The Young Schoolboy; The Son Who Heard Voices, and many more. Also includes an essay on the Basque language and some Basque poetry.

This book has 96,117 words, 181 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1877.

Production notes: This ebook of Basque Legends was published by Global Grey in 2018, and updated on the 23rd February 2023. The artwork used for the cover is 'Basque Celebration' - by Darío de Regoyos.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...