After Dark

Wilkie Collins

After Dark, by Wilkie Collins - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


After Dark is a book by English novelist Wilkie Collins, first published in 1856. It is a collection of six short stories that are linked by a narrative framework. This was Collins' first short fiction collection, with five of the stories previously being published in Household Words, a magazine edited by Charles Dickens. The stories include; The Traveler's Story Of A Terribly Strange Bed (first published as 'A Terribly Strange Bed'); The Lawyer's Story Of A Stolen Letter (first published as 'The Fourth Poor Traveller'); The French Governess's Story Of Sister Rose (first published as 'Sister Rose'); The Angler's Story Of The Lady Of Glenwith Grange; The Nun's Story Of Gabriel's Marriage (first published as 'Gabriel's Marriage'); and, The Professor's Story Of The Yellow Mask (first published as 'The Yellow Mask').

This book has 137,017 words, 212 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1856.

Production notes: This ebook of After Dark was published by Global Grey on the 19th July 2018, and updated on the 24th November 2022. The artwork used for the cover is 'St Anne’s Square And Exchange' by John Atkinson Grimshaw.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...