The Story of the Amulet

Edith Nesbit

The Story of the Amulet, by Edith Nesbit - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle ebook formats.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Story of the Amulet is a book by English author Edith Nesbit, first published in 1906. It is the final part of a trilogy that also includes Five Children and It, and, The Phoenix and the Carpet. The Psammead from the first book makes another appearance in this book, but only to advise the children, not to grant wishes to them. After coming across the Psammead in a shop, where it has been trapped, they persuade the shopkeeper to sell it to them. The Psammead then tells the children to buy an ancient Egyptian amulet which allows them to time travel. The amulet they buy is one half of a whole, and they will need the other half to allow the amulet's true power, that of granting wishes. Off on their adventures to places where the Amulet has previously existed, the children visit Babylon, Ancient Egypt, Atlantis and Ancient Rome, where they meet Julius Caesar, in the hope that they will come across the other half of the magical amulet.

This book has 142 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1906.

Production notes: This ebook of The Story of the Amulet was published by Global Grey ebooks on the 26th March 2021. The artwork used for the cover is 'The Visit of the Queen of Sheba to King Solomon' by Edward John Poynter.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...