Some Do Not...

Ford Madox Ford

Some Do Not..., by Ford Madox Ford - click to see full size image

Free download available in PDF, epub, and Kindle ebook formats.
Skip straight to downloads.


Some Do Not... is a novel by Ford Madox Ford, first published in 1924. It is the first in the Parade's End series, which chronicles the life of a member of the British gentry before, during and after World War I. In 'Some Do Not...', Christopher Tietjens, a government statistician, and his friend Vincent Macmaster, an aspiring literary critic, are visiting the English countryside. Whilst there Tietjens meets a suffragette, Valentine Wannop. Although married, Tietjens is not happy within it, and his love affair with Valentine develops, as the novel also explores the horrors of war from outside the battlefield. An honourable and old fashioned man, Tietjen doesn't want to leave his wife, but whether that is to do with simple honour and loyalty, or because he moved up the social ladder when he married - is left up to the reader. His rules of honour and nobility also affect his stance towards the war. In all, the novel shows that each individual character has their own motivations, despite the propaganda of the day painting the entire country of England as one of heroics and high morality. This book is followed in the series by 'No More Parades'.

№ 1 in the Parade's End series.

This book has 218 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1924.

Production notes: This ebook of Some Do Not... was published by Global Grey on the 26th July 2018.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

You can help the site by donating or by buying a collection, like the Fiction one, with 828 ebooks for only £25.

Or for a limited time (only 100 collections are being sold at this price) you can buy the Entire collection, with over 2,400 ebooks for only £10.

Related ebooks...