The Awakening and Selected Short Stories

Kate Chopin

The Awakening and Selected Short Stories by Kate Chopin - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Awakening and Selected Short Stories is a collection of nine stories by American author, Kate Chopin. The Awakening was first published in 1899 and is considered an early work of feminist literature. It tells the story of Edna Pontellier, the wife of a New Orleans businessman, as she struggles to come to terms with her changing views on both femininity and motherhood and as a result, becomes at odds with the existing social concensus of the American South at the turn of the 20th century. Other short stories in this edition are; Beyond the Bayou; Ma'ame Pelagie; Desiree's Baby; A Respectable Woman; The Kiss; A Pair of Silk Stockings; The Locket; and, A Reflection.

Part of Anne Haight's List of Banned Books.

This book has 64,250 words, 137 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1899.

Production notes: This ebook of The Awakening and Selected Short Stories was published by Global Grey in 2017, and updated on the 25th November 2023. The artwork used for the cover is 'Woman before the Rising Sun' by Caspar David Friedrich.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...