Records of the Past, Volume I

A. H. Sayce

Records of the Past, 2nd Series, Volume I, by A. H. Sayce - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


Records of the Past is a book by British Assyriologist Archibald Henry Sayce, first published in 1889. This is the first of a five volume set that Sayce wrote. Subtitled 'Being English translations of the ancient monuments of Egypt and Western Asia', the series focuses on the ancient writings of the Ancient Near East and Ancient Egypt. This volume includes two versions of the Creation epic, today known as the Enuma Elish, and several historical texts. Chapters include: The Dynastic Tablets And Chronicles Of The Babylonians; The Inscriptions Of Telloh; Sin-Gashid's Endowment Of The Temple Ê-Ana; An Erechite's Lament; Inscription Of Tiglath-Pileser I, King Of Assyria; The Assyrian Story Of The Creation; The Babylonian Story Of The Creation According To The Tradition Of Cutha; Babylonian Lawsuits And Judgments; Inscription Of Menuas, King Of Ararat, In The Vannic Language; and, The Ancient Hebrew Inscription Of Siloam.

This book has 41,721 words, 108 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1889.

Production notes: This ebook of Records of the Past, 2nd Series, Volume I was published by Global Grey in 2018, and updated on the 17th November 2022. The artwork used for the cover is 'Egyptian Temple' by Sydney Herbert.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...