The Life of Reason

George Santayana

The Life of Reason, by George Santayana - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Life of Reason: The Phases of Human Progress is a book by Spanish philosopher George Santayana. Originally published as five volumes from 1905 to 1906, the work explores the development of human reason throughout history. This edition includes all five volumes. One, Reason in Common Sense argues that reason and common sense are both necessary for human progress and understanding. Two, Reason in Society discusses the role of reason in society and how it shapes social institutions and customs. It also explores the limitations of reason in social contexts. Three, Reason in Religion argues that religion can provide a framework for ethical and moral behavior, but that reason is necessary to distinguish between true and false beliefs. Four, Reason in Art argues that reason is essential for appreciating and understanding beauty. Five, Reason in Science argues that science is a product of reason and that scientific progress is essential for human progress. The Life of Reason is considered to be the most complete expression of Santayana's moral philosophy, as well as one of the most poetic and well-written works of philosophy in Western history, and includes several oft-quoted sayings, such as 'Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it'.

This book has 312,240 words, 495 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published 1905 to 1906.

Production notes: This ebook of The Life of Reason was published by Global Grey on the 29th March 2023. The artwork used for the cover is 'Interior Workshop' by Julius Victor Berger.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...