The History of England

David Hume

The History of England, by David Hume - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The History of England is a book by Scottish Enlightenment philosopher David Hume, first published between 1754–1761. Spanning a vast period of time from the invasion of Julius Caeser to the reign of James II, the book was originally published in six volumes. Subjects include: The Britons; The Romans; The Saxons; The Heptarchy; The Kingdom of Kent; The Kingdom of Northumberland; The Kingdom of East Anglia; The Kingdom of Mercia; The Kingdom of Essex; The Kingdom of Sussex; The Kingdom of Wessex; Egbert; Ethelwolf; Ethelbald and Ethelbert; Ethered; Alfred; Edward the Elder; Athelstan; Edmund; Edred; Edwy; Edgar; Edward the Martyr; Ethelred; Edmond Ironside; Canute; Harold Harefoot; Hardicanute; Edward the Confessor; Harold; The Anglo-Saxon Government and Manners; William the Conqueror; William Rufus; Henry I; Stephen; Henry II; Richard I; John; The Feudal and Anglo-Norman Government and Manners; Henry III; Edward I; Edward II; Edward III; Richard II; Henry IV; Henry V; Henry VI; Edward IV; Edward V. and Richard III; Richard III; Henry VII; Henry VIII; Edward VI; Mary; Elizabeth; James I; Charles I; The Commonwealth; Charles II; and, James II. The book caused outrage upon publication, with some accusing Hume of historical revisionism intending to promote toryism. Thomas Jefferson called the work 'poison' and banned it from the University of Virginia library.

This book has 1,103,971 words, 1,644 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published 1754–1761.

Production notes: This ebook of The History of England was published by Global Grey in 2018, and updated on the 8th April 2024. The artwork used for the cover is 'Edward IV and Lancastrian Fugitives at Tewkesbury Abbey' by Richard Burchett.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...