The Country of the Blind, and Other Stories

H. G. Wells

The Country of the Blind, and Other Stories, by H. G. Wells - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Country of the Blind, and Other Stories by H. G. Wells was first published in 1911. It is a collection of thirty-three fantasy and science fiction short stories, and includes one of Wells's best-known short stories, The Country of the Blind. The rest of the stories are: The Jilting of Jane; The Cone; The Stolen Bacillus; The Flowering of the Strange Orchid; In the Avu Observatory; Æpyornis Island; The Remarkable Case of Davidson's Eyes; The Lord of the Dynamos; The Moth; The Treasure in the Forest; The Story of the Late Mr. Elvesham; Under the Knife; The Sea Raiders; The Obliterated Man; The Plattner Story; The Red Room; The Purple Pileus; A Slip Under the Microscope; The Crystal Egg; The Star; The Man Who Could Work Miracles; A Vision of Judgment; Jimmy Goggles the God; Miss Winchelsea's Heart; A Dream of Armageddon; The Valley of Spiders; The New Accelerator; The Truth About Pyecraft; The Magic Shop; The Empire of the Ants; The Door in the Wall; and, The Beautiful Suit.

This book has 159,473 words, 260 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1911.

Production notes: This ebook of The Country of the Blind, and Other Stories was published by Global Grey on the 15th February 2024. The artwork used for the cover is 'Gripsholm Castle, the queen's bedchamber' by Eugène Jansson.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...