The Animal Story Book

Andrew Lang

The Animal Story Book, by Andrew Lang - click to see full size image

Available to download for free in PDF, epub, and Kindle (mobi and AZW3) ebook formats. Or read online.
Skip straight to downloads.


The Animal Story Book is a book by Andrew Lang, first published in 1896. It is the eighth book in the Fairy Book series, and consists of 65 children's tales about animals. Some of them are about how the animals live in the wild, others about pets or remarkable animals. The stories include ‘Tom’: an Adventure in the Life of a Bear in Paris; Saï the Panther; The Buzzard and the Priest; Cowper and his Hares; A Rat Tale; Snake Stories; What Elephants can Do; The Dog of Montargis; How a Beaver builds his House; The War Horse of Alexander; Stories about Bears; Stories about Ants; The Taming of an Otter; The Story of Androcles and the Lion; Monsieur Dumas and his Beasts; The Adventures of Pyramus; The Story of a Weasel; Stories about Wolves; Two Highland Dogs; Monkey Tricks and Sally at the Zoo; How the Cayman was killed; The Story of Fido; Beasts Besieged; Mr. Gully; Stories from Pliny; The Strange History of Cagnotte, and many more.

№ 8 in Lang's Fairy Books series.

This book has 96,934 words, 176 pages in the PDF version, and was originally published in 1896.

Production notes: This ebook of The Animal Story Book was published by Global Grey on the 17th October 2022. The artwork used for the cover is 'Orpheus Charming the Animals' by Jacob Hoefnagel.

Download for ereaders (below donate buttons)

Related ebooks...