You can also download this book in PDF, epub, and Kindle ebook formats, here:

Download over 2,000 completely free ebooks at:

The Scarlet Letter

Nathaniel Hawthorne

First published in 1850. This is the second edition, first published in 1878.

This online edition was created and published by Global Grey on the 25th September 2021.

Table of Contents

Preface to the Second Edition

The Customhouse

1. The Prison-Door

2. The Marketplace

3. The Recognition

4. The Interview

5. Hester at Her Needle

6. Pearl

7. The Governor’s Hall

8. The Elf-Child and the Minister

9. The Leech

10. The Leech and His Patient

11. The Interior of a Heart

12. The Minister’s Vigil

13. Another View of Hester

14. Hester and the Physician

15. Hester and Pearl

16. A Forest Walk

17. The Pastor and His Parishioner

18. A Flood of Sunshine

19. The Child at the Brook-Side

20. The Minister in a Maze

21. The New England Holiday

22. The Procession

23. The Revelation of the Scarlet Letter

24. Conclusion

Start reading

Back to the top ↑